

## THE STATES assembled on Tuesday 10th November 2020, at 9.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Timothy John Le Cocq, Esquire.

# His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, Air Chief Marshall Sir Stephen Dalton, G.C.B., LL.D. (Hon.), D.Sc. (Hon.), B.Sc., F.R.Ae.S., C.C.M.I. was present.

All members were present at roll call.

Prayers

# Standing Order 55A – meeting held remotely

THE STATES assembled remotely, in accordance with Standing Order 55A, as the Bailiff considered that it was not possible to convene or maintain a quorate meeting in view of a substantial risk to the health of both States Members and the public.

## Minister for Children and Housing – resignation

The Chief Minister, in accordance with Article 22(4) of the States of Jersey Law 2005, informed the Assembly that Senator Samuel Yves Mézec had resigned as Minister for Children and Housing.

## Vote of No Confidence: Chief Minister P.149/2020

THE STATES commenced consideration of a proposition of Senator Kristina Louise Moore entitled 'Vote of No Confidence: Chief Minister' (P.149/2020).

#### Lunchtime adjournment

THE STATES, adopting a proposition of the Chair of the Privileges and Procedures Committee, agreed to adjourn for lunch.

Members present voted as follows -

#### **POUR: 32**

**CONTRE: 5** 

ABSTAIN: 0

Senator L.J. Farnham Senator J.A.N. Le Fondré Senator T.A. Vallois Senator K.L. Moore Senator S.W. Pallett Connétable of St. Clement Connétable of St. Brelade Connétable of Grouville Connétable of St. John Deputy G.P. Southern (H) Deputy M. Tadier (B) Deputy J.H. Perchard (S) Deputy I. Gardiner (H) Connétable of St. Mary Deputy J.A. Martin (H) Deputy K.C. Lewis (S) Deputy M.R. Higgins (H) Deputy J.M. Maçon (S) Deputy S.J. Pinel (C) Deputy of St. Martin Deputy of St. Ouen Deputy L.M.C. Doublet (S) Deputy R. Labey (H) Deputy S.M. Wickenden (H) Deputy G.J. Truscott (B) Deputy J.H. Young (B) Deputy L.B.E. Ash (C) Deputy K.F. Morel (L) Deputy G.C.U. Guida (L) Deputy of St. Peter Deputy of Trinity Deputy of St. John Deputy M.R. Le Hegarat (H) Deputy S.M. Ahier (H) Deputy C.S. Alves (H) Deputy K.G. Pamplin (S)

### Vote of No Confidence: Chief Minister P.149/2020

THE STATES resumed consideration of the proposition of Senator Kristina Louise Moore entitled 'Vote of No Confidence: Chief Minister' (P.149/2020).

#### **Suspension of meeting**

The Bailiff suspended the meeting, in accordance with Standing Order 46, for a period of 10 minutes as consideration of the proposition of Senator Kristina Louise Moore entitled 'Vote of No Confidence: Chief Minister' (P.149/2020) was due to continue past 5.30 p.m. into the evening.

### Vote of No Confidence: Chief Minister P.149/2020

THE STATES, resuming consideration of the proposition of Senator Kristina Louise Moore entitled 'Vote of No Confidence: Chief Minister' (P.149/2020), rejected the proposition that they had no confidence in the Chief Minister.

Members present voted as follows –

# **POUR: 19**

#### **CONTRE: 29**

Senator K.L. Moore Senator S.W. Pallett Senator S.Y. Mézec Connétable of St. Saviour Connétable of St. Brelade Connétable of Grouville Connétable of St. Peter Connétable of St. Martin Senator I.J. Gorst Senator L.J. Farnham Senator S.C. Ferguson Senator J.A.N. Le Fondré Connétable of St. Helier Connétable of St. Clement Connétable of St. Lawrence Connétable of St. John **ABSTAIN: 1** 

Senator T.A. Vallois

- Deputy G.P. Southern (H) Deputy M. Tadier (B) Deputy of St. Martin Deputy L.M.C. Doublet (S) Deputy M.R. Le Hegarat (H) Deputy S.M. Ahier (H) Deputy J.H. Perchard (S) Deputy R.J. Ward (H) Deputy C.S. Alves (H) Deputy K.G. Pamplin (S) Deputy I. Gardiner (H)
- Connétable of Trinity Connétable of St. Mary Connétable of St. Ouen Deputy J.A. Martin (H) Deputy of Grouville Deputy K.C. Lewis (S) Deputy M.R. Higgins (H) Deputy J.M. Maçon (S) Deputy S.J. Pinel (C) Deputy of St. Ouen Deputy R. Labey (H) Deputy S.M. Wickenden (H) Deputy of St. Mary Deputy G.J. Truscott (B) Deputy J.H. Young (B) Deputy L.B.E. Ash (C) Deputy K.F. Morel (L) Deputy G.C.U. Guida (L) Deputy of St. Peter Deputy of Trinity Deputy of St. John

THE STATES rose at 7.16 p.m.

# L.-M. HART

Deputy Greffier of the States